Texas Child Abuse Cases On the Increase
Due to the recent shelter at home orders Texas Child Abuse cases are on the increase according to hospital officials. A Texas hospital that usually sees about 8 child abuse cases in a month reported 6 cases in one week. Experts believe that increased stress caused by economic hardship, food shortages, and being crowded into a closed environment can lead to child abuse.
Texas Child Abuse cases are very serious felony charges. Depending on the facts a person can be charged from a first degree felony down to a state jail felony. If the investigation and evidence shows the child suffered serious bodily injury and the police believe the defendant intentionally and knowingly caused the injury the charge will be a first degree felony. A first degree felony carries a penalty range from 5 years in prison to 99 years or life.
If the evidence shows the serious bodily injury was caused by a reckless act then the defendant would be charged a with a second degree felony. A second degree felony carries a penalty range of 2 to 20 years in prison.
The injury doesn’t have to be a serious bodily injury in order for the police to charge a defendant with a felony. If a person intentionally causes bodily injury to child law enforcement can bring a third degree felony charge which carries a penalty range 2 to 10 years in prison. Under Texas law bodily injury only means the child felt pain. A simple slap or spanking with a hand can be enough to bring a felony charge.
There are many defenses to Child Abuse charges. If a person is under investigation or arrested for a Texas child abuse charge they should contact with an experienced criminal defense attorney before talking with the police. This could be the most crucial decision an accused citizen makes.
Comments are closed.