Texas Shoplifting Charges: The 3 Levels of Punishment
Texas shoplifting charges are covered under the Theft section of the Texas Penal Code. Texas shoplifting charges are usually misdemeanor offenses and can have three different punishment levels depending on the value of the property taken.
1. Property value less than $50 the offense is a class C misdemeanor which carries up to a $500 fine.
2. Property value of $50 to $499 is a class B misdemeanor and carries a penalty range from 1 day in jail to 180 days and up to $2,000 in fines.
3. Property value of $500 to $1,499 is a class A misdemeanor and carries a penalty range from 1 day to 1 year in jail and up to $4,000 in fines.
Property value greater than $1,500 becomes a felony. There are many defenses to shoplifting. The fact that a person has been arrested does not mean the prosecution has sufficient evidence to get a conviction. If you or a family member has been charged with shoplifting consult with an experienced criminal lawyer as soon as possible.
Comments are closed.